On December 5, 2022, the legislature convened for the 2023-24 legislative session, which included nearly one-third of new members. Since then, the legislature has introduced nearly 200 measures.

Yesterday afternoon, Senate President pro Tem, Toni Atkins, announced committee chairs and membership for the 2023-24 legislative session. Below is list of the chairs and vice-chairs for the committees that CASBO works closely with and a full list of committees and membership can be found here.


Senate Committee Chairs and Membership

  • Senator Anthony J. Portantino (D-La Cañada Flintridge), Chair
  • Senator Brian W. Jones (R-Santee), Vice-Chair
  • Senator Angelique Ashby (D-Sacramento)
  • Senator Steven Bradford (D-Gardena)
  • Senator Kelly Seyarto (R-Murrieta)
  • Senator Aisha Wahab (D-Hayward)
  • Senator Scott D. Wiener (D-San Francisco) 

Budget and Fiscal Review

  • Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley), Chair
  • Senator Roger W. Niello (R-Fair Oaks), Vice-Chair
  • Senator Josh Becker (D-Menlo Park)
  • Senator Anna M. Caballero (D-Merced)
  • Senator Brian Dahle (R-Bieber)
  • Senator María Elena Durazo (D-Los Angeles)
  • Senator Susan Talamantes Eggman (D-Stockton)
  • Senator Shannon Grove (R-Bakersfield)
  • Senator John Laird (D-Santa Cruz)
  • Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg)
  • Senator Caroline Menjivar (D-San Fernando Valley)
  • Senator Dave Min (D-Irvine)
  • Senator Josh Newman (D-Fullerton)
  • Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa)
  • Senator Steve Padilla (D-San Diego)
  • Senator Richard D. Roth (D-Riverside)
  • Senator Kelly Seyarto (R-Murrieta)
  • Senator Lola Smallwood-Cuevas (D-Los Angeles)

Budget Subcommittee #1 on Education

  • Senator John Laird (D-Santa Cruz), Chair
  • Senator Dave Min (D-Irvine)
  • Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa)
  • Senator Lola Smallwood-Cuevas (D-Los Angeles)


  • Senator Josh Newman (D-Fullerton), Chair
  • Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa), Vice-Chair
  • Senator Dave Cortese (D-San Jose)
  • Senator Steven M. Glazer (D-Contra Costa)
  • Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg)
  • Senator Lola Smallwood-Cuevas (D-Los Angeles)
  • Senator Scott Wilk (R-Santa Clarita)


Assembly Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs

On Thursday, December 22, 2022, Assembly Speaker, Anthony Rendon, announced only committee chairs and vice-chairs. The full list of all committees with chairs and vice-chairs can be found here.


  • Assemblymember Chris Holden (Pasadena), Chair
  • Assemblymember Megan Dahle (Redding), Vice Chair


  • Assemblymember Phil Ting (San Francisco), Chair
  • Assemblymember Vince Fong (Bakersfield), Vice Chair

Budget Subcommittee #2 on Education Finance

  • Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (Sacramento), Chair


  • Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi (Torrance), Chair
  • Assemblymember Megan Dahle (Redding), Vice Chair

Higher Education

  • Assemblymember Mike Fong (Monterey Park), Chair
  • Assemblymember Tri Ta (Westminister), Vice Chair


Assembly Budget Blueprint

The Assembly, on December 7, 2022, released their “Serving California: Making Government Work,” budget blueprint for 2023-24 with the focus on protecting California’s progress. They highlighted investments made over the last ten years, including funding to the Local Control Funding Formula, Transitional Kindergarten and the Expanded Learning Opportunities Program. Some of what the blueprint suggests the state consider are:

  • Using a balance sheet to continue key investments by considering low-cost borrowing from special funds, especially if the revenue situation worsens and shift spending to special funds temporarily when possible
  • Re-evaluating timing of planned one-time expenditures
  • Using reserves as intended because reserves now are sufficient to preserve all core programs as planned, including preserving classroom funding as well as evaluating the inflation cost adjustments for state expenditures when appropriate.

The focus on K-12 education is to protect Proposition 98 and preserve funding for students and provide certainty for school districts to make the needed investments to reverse learning loss, with an emphasis on educator retention and compensation. There is also mention of crafting a modernized Gann Limit for voters to consider in 2024. We have yet to see the Senate Budget Blueprint.