Upcoming Events

Save the Date

2024 San Diego/Imperial Section Spring Conference
Thursday, February 1, 2024
Marina Village Conference Center
1936 Quivira Way, San Diego, CA 92109

Awards & Scholarships

The Presidents’ Scholarship (formerly known as the Larry Harrison Scholarship) was created to honor Larry Harrison, former food services director at Grossmont Union High School District and section president.

You must be an individual CASBO San Diego/Imperial Section member* to be eligible for this scholarship (non-members, section board members and section Retiree Professional Council members are excluded). Scholarship criteria include:

  • Amount: $500 each
  • No. of awards: Four (4)
  • Sponsored by: CASBO San Diego/Imperial Section Board of Directors
  • Eligibility: Available to current CASBO San Diego/Imperial Section members*
*For purposes of scholarship eligibility requirements, an “individual CASBO San Diego/Imperial Section member” is a paid Organizational Subscription Employee Member. If you are not an eligible member, but you know someone who would be interested in this scholarship, please feel free to pass this information along!
Applications Closed Nov 3.

The San Diego/Imperial Section participates in the statewide Robert “Bob” Reeves Scholarship, which is administered by the CASBO Associate Members Committee. Please view that scholarship for more details and how to apply.

Need assistance with San Diego/Imperial Section scholarships?

Janea Marking

San Diego/Imperial Section President
Assistant Superintendent, Business Services
South Bay Union School District

San Diego/Imperial Section Leadership

Board of Directors

Justine Galura
San Diego COE
Andrea “Andie” Pizana
San Dieguito Union HSD
Barbara Thiss
Past President
San Diego COE
Jennifer Marrone
State Director
San Diego USD
Jessica Odanga
Lemon Grove SD
Francesca Martinez
San Diego COE
Maribel Suarez
Director I
San Marcos USD
Tori Long
Director II
Santee USD
Michelle Howe-Kelton
Director III
Carlsbad USD
Cynthia Beltran
Director Imperial County
Imperial COE
Vince Christakos
Retiree Director
Donnie Salamanca
State Legislative Committee
San Diego Section Representative
Coronado USD
Chris Delehanty
State Advocacy Network Committee
San Diego Section Representative
Del Mar Union SD
Mark Rivas
Associate Member Liaison
Lakeshore Learning
Tom Hartzell
Associate Member Assistant Liaison
Mission Federal Credit Union

San Diego/Imperial Section Professional Councils

Professional councils have been established for the purposes of serving as resources in the development of best practices, gathering and disseminating resources and information to the general CASBO membership, ensuring quality annual conference sessions in their field of interest, participating as a resource in CASBO’s advocacy efforts and encouraging CASBO membership and participation among their peers.

Jonathan Merz
Accounting Professional Council Chair
San Diego COE
Michelle Howe-Kelton
Accounting Professional Council Co-Chair
Carlsbad USD
Janea Marking
Charter Schools Professional Council Chair
San Diego COE
Mark Pong
Chief Business Official Professional Council Chair
Solana Beach SD
Child Nutrition Professional Council Chair
Ashlee Cadwell
Facilities Professional Council Chair
San Diego COE
Olivia Aguirre
Financial Services Professional Council Chair
San Diego COE
Human Resources Professional Council Chair
Julian Martinez
Maintenance & Operations Professional Council Chair
Del Mar Union SD
Ann Marie Rascon
Payroll Professional Council Chair
Imperial COE
Sharon Clay
Purchasing Professional Council Co-Chair
Cajon Valley Union SD
Tiana Barton
Purchasing Professional Council Co-Chair
Del Mar Union SD
Vince Christakos
Retiree Professional Council Chair
Carrie Hancock
Risk Management Professional Council Chair
San Dieguito Union HSD
Mark Curtis
Special Education Professional Council Chair
San Diego COE
Matthew Colwell
Technology Professional Council Chair
San Dieguito Union HSD
Transportation Professional Council Chair