California’s Classified School Employee Week, established as an official week of statewide recognition in 1986 through Senate Bill 1552, was celebrated May 16 to May 20, 2022. State Superintendent Tony Thurmond honored the 2022 California Classified School Employees of the Year at the CSEY Awards Luncheon on May 19. Among those recognized were nine distinguished CASBO members:

Trudi Walsh, School Secretary, Humboldt COE
Clerical and Administrative Services 

Robert Estrada, Head Custodian, El Monte City SD
Custodial and Maintenance Services

Gayla Hager, Food Service Lead, Ramona USD
Food and Nutrition Services
National Recognizing School Employees (RISE) Award Nominee

Sheri Saladow, Guidance Technician, Capistrano USD
Health & Student Services 

Renee Thompson, Classroom Instructional Aide, Enterprise ESD
Paraprofessional Services

Erik Estrada, Campus Supervisor, Hunting Beach Union SD
Security Services 

Timothy Romaine, Vehicle and Equipment Mechanic, Orcutt Union SD
Skilled Trades Services 

Armando Gomez, Database Specialist, Los Alamitos USD
Technical Services

Shannon Lauricella, School Bus Driver, Garden Grove USD
Transportation Services
National Recognizing School Employees (RISE) Award Nominee

On May 16, 2022, the California Department of Education honored the California Teachers of the Year at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel in Sacramento. CASBO was a proud sponsor of this event, represented by current President Diane Deshler, and was thrilled to see so many outstanding educators honored as finalists.